About Us

The Croydon unit was established in October 1961, as part of a Civil Defence Organisation, the predecessor of the State Emergency Service (SES).  The unit was then based at the Croydon Hall.  On 30 June 2014, the name of the unit was changed to Maroondah to more accurately reflect the call out area of the Unit, being far broader than just Croydon.

The Unit's primary function was to support the CFA in fighting bushfires in the local shire.  Members were drawn from the council ranks.

The first major bushfires occurred in January/February 1962 in the Brushy Creek area.  As a result of these fires and the problems encountered, other shires in the surrounding areas got together to form the Yarra Valley Municipal Emergency Organisation.  This was designated Region 13, which now has been recently renamed "Foxtrot".

Region 13 was formed with a Constitution which was unique in Australia at the time, whereby each Council/Shire pledged support for the others in cases of emergency or disaster.

Until 1968, the majority of the Unit's members were Council/Shire Employees.  In 1985 the unit moved to its new headquarters at Lincoln Road, Croydon.  With a three berth garage, workshop area, reception area, administration offices communication centre and operations/training theatre the station is one of the best in the state. During the years 2000-1 the communications and training facilities were upgraded to incorporate state of the art audio visual equipment.  In 2005 an additional drive through garage bay and workshop area was added to the rear of the building.

Today members come from all walks of life and include mechanics, draftsmen, forestry workers, carpenters, fitters, housewives, electricians and teachers.  All the members of the Maroondah Unit are volunteers.  A rostered Rescue, Operations and Communications team are on standby 24 hours a day 7 days a week, to attend to emergency callouts.

unit photo
Roof Damage